Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 19th, 2009

On this particular day, Jake was suffering from some food poisoning. We were very careful but the food really did not sit well with us. I decided to go for a long walk between the villages and I got lost in the jungle. It was very scary. I came upon people occasionally, usually men with machetes. You wouldn’t want to walk in this jungle without them because there’s so much foliage. I can’t speak Spanish and many of the people spoke Mayan anyway. So no one could help me find my way.

Eventually I came upon a British expat who helped point me the right way.

In the jungle, you see many people working. I saw some guys halling firewood on their backs. I can’t imagine how far their walk was going to be that way. I saw women taking care of some corn fields that had been planted right in the jungle.

Read Full Post »